Level II Trauma Center - CHRISTUS Trinity Mother Frances Health System

Skip to Content

Section Menu

Level II Trauma Center

What is a Level II Trauma Center?

Only a select group of medical centers receive Level II Trauma Center verification from the American College of Surgeons (ACS). Verified trauma centers must meet the essential ACS criteria that ensure trauma care capability and institutional performance.

Criteria for a Level II Trauma Center:

  • 24-hour-a-day commitment by the medical staff, including trauma surgeons, emergency physicians, anesthesiologists, neurosurgeons and orthopedic specialists
  • Hospital staff committed to trauma, including staff in emergency, surgery, respiratory therapy, laboratory, radiology, critical care, nursing, pastoral care and rehabilitation
  • Availability of numerous clinical resources such as cardiothoracic surgery; internal medicine; neurosurgery; ophthalmic, maxillofacial and plastic surgery; pediatrics; radiological specialties and many others
  • Rapid air transportation
  • Available consultation to rural areas via a 24-hour referral line
  • Leadership in trauma education

What type of care can a Level II Trauma Center provide?

  • Treatment for physical injuries of someone who has suffered serious and life-threatening physical injury potentially resulting in secondary complications such as shock, respiratory failure and death
  • Specialized care, including surgery and sometimes blood transfusion
  • Intensive and critical care units for injured patients
  • Respiratory services in hospital provided 24-hours a day
  • Radiology services such as angiography, sonography, CT Scans and MRI
  • Standard and comprehensive lab services