CHRISTUS Mother Frances Hospital - Tyler First in Texas to Earn “Advanced” Total Hip and Total Knee Replacement Certification - CHRISTUS Trinity Mother Frances Health System

Skip to Content

Section Menu

News & Media

Published on July 26, 2016

CHRISTUS Mother Frances Hospital - Tyler First in Texas to Earn “Advanced” Total Hip and Total Knee Replacement Certification


Tyler – CHRISTUS Mother Frances Hospital – Tyler is the first hospital in Texas to achieve the Gold Seal for “Advanced” Certification in Total Hip and Total Knee Replacement from the Joint Commission. The Advanced Total Hip and Total Knee Replacement certification program is designed to assist health care organizations to provide high quality, comprehensive health care with an emphasis on patient safety.


The new Gold Seal certification was determined during a recent Joint Commission visit and survey of services at CHRISTUS Mother Frances Hospital – Tyler. The survey also recertified both the Spine Surgery and Advanced Primary Stroke Programs. 


“It is an honor to achieve this certification, especially in addition to the other certifications and accreditations earned by the System,” said Cathy Newman, RN, MSN, NEA-BC, Clinical Director of the Centers of Excellence, CHRISTUS Trinity Mother Frances Health System. “Being the first program in Texas to achieve it speaks to the extraordinarily high standards we require of every member of our team and to the level of care we provide our patients every day.


The total hip and knee replacement procedure has become more common due to an aging population and expanding clinical indications for the procedure. The Joint Commission certification program focuses on the transitions of care for patients undergoing a total joint replacement of the hip or knee. The uniqueness of this certification begins with reviewing the processes associated with the orthopedic consultation, pre-operative, intraoperative and post-surgical orthopedic surgeon follow up care.


“Earning this certification from The Joint Commission signifies many things, but most importantly this certification demonstrates our devotion to patient safety,” said Newman. “By earning our Joint Commission Gold Seal, we are telling our staff, our community, and each and every patient that comes through our doors that we have placed an emphasis on quality of care.”

An independent, not-for-profit organization, The Joint Commission accredits and certifies nearly 21,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States. Joint Commission accreditation and certification is recognized nationwide as a symbol of quality that reflects an organization’s commitment to meeting certain performance standards. 

Reviewed by Will Knous on July 26, 2016

Media Contact

Will Knous
Media Relations
(903) 530-5065